AAI Award | American Athletic Inc.
2016 AAI Award

2018 AAI Award

For over 26 years, American Athletic, Inc. (AAI) has presented the prestigious AAI Award to the most outstanding senior female gymnast in the country. This award is considered the Heisman Trophy in gymnastics. Every year, college coaches are asked to submit their nominations for this award. The coaches then vote to narrow down these nominations to finalists, and ultimately the winner. AAI recognizes the achievements and dedication of each AAI Award Nominee and is proud to support NCAA® gymnastics.

Every year, we are presented with a talented pool of athletes nominated for the AAI Award, this year being no different. Each athlete had impressive honors and career stats, involvement in their communities and solid plans for the future.

The 2018 AAI Award Winner is...

Elizabeth Price from Stanford University


     As the lone recruit in 2015, Elizabeth is the only senior on the Cardinal squad and has embraced her role as a captain. She inspires and leads the youthful Stanford team (9 of 13 team members are underclassmen) in and out of the classroom with her passion and work ethic, and will graduate in June with a degree in biomechanical engineering. One of the most dynamic gymnasts in the country, Elizabeth scored a perfect 10 on the uneven bars - the first of the year by a women's collegiate gymnast - at the season-opening NorCal Classic, the second 10 of her career. She competes in all four events and has tallied career-highs this season on the balance beam (9.950), uneven bars (10.0) and in the all-around (39.775). Elizabeth was named Pac-12 Conference Gymnast of the Week for the sixth time in her career on Jan. 22 after sweeping four events and winning the all-around against Arizona State. Elizabeth led the nation on bars, floor exercise and all-round. A six-time All-American, she will align with a biomechanical company after graduation and wants to develop affordable medical devices for third world and underserved countries. 

Career Bests:
Uneven Bars: 10.0
Balance Beam: 9.950
Floor Exercise: 9.975
All-Around: 39.775

• 2017 NACGC/W Regular Season All-American first team on bars 
• 2017 First-team All-Pac-12 on vault and bars, second team on floor
• 2017 Won NCAA Seattle Regional title on bars (9.975)
• 2017 Two-time Pac-12 Specialist of the Week
• 2016 First-team All-American in the all-around, vault, bars and beam
• 2016 Pac-12 Gymnast of the Year
• 2016 NACGC/W Regular Season All-American in the all-around, vault and bars
• 2016 All-Pac 12 first team in the all-around 
• 2016 Four-time Pac-12 Gymnast of the Week
• 2015 First-team All-American on vault and bars
• 2015 Pac-12 Specialist of the Year
• 2015 First-team All-Pac-12 on vault
• 2015 Won NCAA title on vault and tied for fifth on bars
• 2015 Pac-12 Specialist and Newcomer of the Week

2018 AAI Award Finalists

Past Winners of the AAI Award

1991 - Joy Selig from Oregon State University

1992 - Missy Marlowe-Anglesey from University of Utah

1993 - Tammy Marshall from University of Massachusetts

1994 - Chari Knight from Oregon State University

1995 - Beth Wymer from University of Michigan

1996 - Jenny Hansen from University of Kentucky

1997 - Kristin Quackenbush from West Virginia University

1998 - Kim Arnold from University of Georgia

1999 - Jenni Beathard from University of Georgia

2000 - Heidi Hornbeek from University of Arizona

2001 - Mohini Bhardwaj from UCLA

2002 - Andree Pickens from University of Alabama

2003 - Theresa Kulikowski from University of Utah

2004 - Jamie Dantzscher from UCLA

2005 - Richelle Simpson from University of Nebraska

2006 - Courtney Bumpers from University of North Carolina

2007 - Janet Anson from Iowa State University

2008 - Ashley Postell from University of Utah

2009 - Courtney Kupets from University of Georgia

2010 - Susan Jackson from Louisiana State University

2011 - Kylee Botterman from University of Michigan

2012 - Amy Glass from Boise State University

2013 - Vanessa Zamarripa from UCLA

2014 - Emily Wong from University of Nebraska

2015 - Georgia Dabritz from University of Utah

2016 - Lindsay Mable from University of Minnesota

2017 - Ashleigh Gnat from LSU

Featured Product

Newsletter Sign Up

Receive the latest AAI Gymnastics news & updates