FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE – Fort Worth, TX – April 18, 2019 – American Athletic, Inc. (AAI) proudly presented the AAI Award to the most outstanding collegiate senior female gymnast in the country. AAI has been awarding this honor for over the last 30+ years and it has become considered the Heisman Trophy in Women’s gymnastics.

“I have helped facilitate this award for over 15 years,” said Lisa Ebersole, Marketing Manager for AAI. “To watch such a talented pool of athletes, go through the process of such a high caliber award and see the coach’s pride for them is truly inspiring.”

The NCAA head coaches are asked to submit a nomination for the candidate or candidates of their choice. This year the award started with 25 talented athletes, a number that should not go un-noticed. After all the nominations were in, the coaches then voted to narrow the field to the top 6 athletes. These athletes were;

  • Alicia Boren – University of Florida
  • Brenna Dowell – University of Oklahoma
  • Sarah Finnegan – LSU
  • Olivia Karas – University of Michigan
  • Katelyn Ohashi – UCLA
  • Toni-Ann Williams – UC Berkeley

At the NCAA Championship Banquet all the finalists are called to the stage and recognized for making the elite group. This year, Sarah Finnegan of LSU took home the title of the 2019 AAI Award Winner.

“This is an amazing honor,” Finnegan said. “To see Ashleigh Gnat win this award two years ago was inspiring, and I am so honored to continue the tradition of this program. To be even considered a finalist and ultimately picked out of the top senior gymnasts in the country is so cool. I could not have achieved this without the support of my teammates not just this year but over the last three years. We still have more work to do as a team this weekend.”

AAI is proud to support NCAA Gymnastics and recognizes the achievements and dedication of all the AAI Award Finalists as well as all gymnasts within the sport.

About American Athletic, Inc.

Since 1954, American Athletic, Inc. has been manufacturing world-class gymnastics equipment. Headquartered in Jefferson, Iowa, the company operates three facilities totaling over 240,000 square feet and employs about 100 people. AAI is the official supplier and partner to USA Gymnastics and is proud to partner with the Federation Internationale De Gymnastique (FIG) and National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA). For more information on AAI, please call (800) 247-3978 or visit www.americanathletic.com.


Lisa Ebersole     

Marketing Manager, AAI/Spalding



About AAI Award

For over 26 years, American Athletic, Inc. (AAI) has presented the prestigious AAI Award to the most outstanding senior female gymnast in the country. This award is considered the Heisman Trophy in gymnastics. Every year, college coaches are asked to submit their nominations for this award. The coaches then vote to narrow down these nominations to finalists, and ultimately the winner. AAI recognizes the achievements and dedication of each AAI Award Nominee and is proud to support NCAA® gymnastics.

Every year, we are presented with a talented pool of athletes nominated for the AAI Award, this year being no different. Each athlete had impressive honors and career stats, involvement in their communities and solid plans for the future.

The International Gymnastics Federation USA Gymnastics NCAA YMCA USAIGC Bienvenidos a la Federación Puertorriqueña de Gimnasia International Gymnastics Hall of Fame Gimnasia Eurotramp Envirolite AirTrack Factory US